National Fisheries Research and Development Institute Online Information System

DA designates new set of NFRDI Governing Board

Quezon City. March 13, 2017. By virtue of DA Special Order No. 289 s. 2017 signed by Honorable Secretary Emmanuel F. Piñol, a new set of NFRDI Governing Board (GB) was designated.

The new set of GB is headed by Undersecretary for Fisheries Commodore Eduardo B Gongona and concurrently the BFAR National Director as the Chairperson with Dir. Drusila Esther E. Bayate as the Vice- Chairperson. The members represented by all fisheries sectors include Dr. Reynaldo V. Eborra from PCAARRD, Dr. Ricardo E. Rotoras from PASUC, Alonso L. Tan from Commercial Capture Fisheries, Felizardo Lim from Municipal Capture Fisheries, Milandro Ramos from Aquaculture Sector and Norberto Chingcuanco from the Postharvest Sector. Atty. Benjamin F.S. Tabios, Jr., incumbent Assistant Director for Administrative Services, BFAR acts as the Governing Board Secretary.

Pursuant to RA 8550 otherwise known as the Philippine Fisheries Code of 1998 as amended by RA 10654, the GB shall be tasked as the governing body of the NFRDI and formulate all organizational policies and guidelines regarding its operations. Moreover, the GB shall be responsible in passing the plans, programs and operational budget of the Institute.


Report from: Policy, Planning and Information Division